Graduation Project (Design) (ENS 491)

2022 Fall
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
1
2
Adnan Kefal adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Barış Balcıoğlu balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Alex Lyakhovich alex.lyakhovich@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Anıl Koyuncu anil.koyuncu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayesha Asloob Qureshi aqureshi@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Bülent Çatay catay@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Burç Mısırlıoğlu burc@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Durmuş Ali Demir durmus.demir@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Erdem emreerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Güllü Kızıltaş Şendur gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Adagideli adagideli@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal Kılıç kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Korkut Kaan Tokgöz korkut.tokgoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Yıldız mehmet.yildiz@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Zafer Gedik gedik@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Mohammad Sadek mmsadek@sabanciuniv.edu, Michel Lavrauw mlavrauw@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Nihat Gökhan Göğüş nggogus@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Duruk Mutlubaş nilaydm@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Nurdagül Anbar Meidl nanbar@sabanciuniv.edu, Ogün Adebali oadebali@sabanciuniv.edu, Onur Varol onur.varol@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Semih Onur Sezer sezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Tuğçe Yüksel tyuksel@sabanciuniv.edu, Turgay Bayraktar tbayraktar@sabanciuniv.edu, Ünal Ertan unal@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Özlü eozlu@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Kaşıkcı canankasikci@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Süha Orhun Mutluergil suha.mutluergil@sabanciuniv.edu, Ömer Ceylan ceylanomer@sabanciuniv.edu, Morteza Ghorbani mghorbani@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Dızman bekirdizman@sabanciuniv.edu, Serkan Ünal serkanunal@sabanciuniv.edu, Burcu Saner Okan bsanerokan@sabanciuniv.edu, Hatice Sinem Şaş Çaycı haticesas@sabanciuniv.edu, MOHANED CHARITI mohaned.chraiti@sabanciuniv.edu, Alp Yürüm alp.yurum@sabanciuniv.edu, Gökalp Alpan gokalp.alpan@sabanciuniv.edu, Kürşat Çağıltay kursat.cagiltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Ongun Özçelik ongun.ozcelik@sabanciuniv.edu, Duygu Taş Küten duygu.tas@sabanciuniv.edu, Erchan Aptoula erchan.aptoula@sabanciuniv.edu, Meral Yüce meralyuce@sabanciuniv.edu, Mirehsan Hesam Sadatizamanabad msadati@sabanciuniv.edu, Atıl Utku Ay utku.ay@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu,
Click here to view.
English
Undergraduate
--
Laboratory,Other
Project based learning,Case Study
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

LEARNING OUTCOMES

  • ability to identify, define, formulate complex scientific/engineering problems/processes,
  • experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to design a solution approach for a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
  • ability to identify modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
  • knowledge on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
  • awareness on IP management, innovation and entrepreneurship,
  • experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations,
  • experience in working in multidisciplinary teams.

PROGRAMME OUTCOMES


1. Understand the world, their country, their society, as well as themselves and have awareness of ethical problems, social rights, values and responsibility to the self and to others. 4

2. Understand different disciplines from natural and social sciences to mathematics and art, and develop interdisciplinary approaches in thinking and practice. 4

3. Think critically, follow innovations and developments in science and technology, demonstrate personal and organizational entrepreneurship and engage in life-long learning in various subjects; have the ability to continue to educate him/herself. 5

4. Communicate effectively in Turkish and English by oral, written, graphical and technological means. 5

5. Take individual and team responsibility, function effectively and respectively as an individual and a member or a leader of a team; and have the skills to work effectively in multi-disciplinary teams. 5


1. Possess sufficient knowledge of mathematics, science and program-specific engineering topics; use theoretical and applied knowledge of these areas in complex engineering problems. 5

2. Identify, define, formulate and solve complex engineering problems; choose and apply suitable analysis and modeling methods for this purpose. 5

3. Develop, choose and use modern techniques and tools that are needed for analysis and solution of complex problems faced in engineering applications; possess knowledge of standards used in engineering applications; use information technologies effectively. 5

4. Have the ability to design a complex system, process, instrument or a product under realistic constraints and conditions, with the goal of fulfilling specified needs; apply modern design techniques for this purpose. 5

5. Design and conduct experiments, collect data, analyze and interpret the results to investigate complex engineering problems or program-specific research areas. 5

6. Possess knowledge of business practices such as project management, risk management and change management; awareness on innovation; knowledge of sustainable development. 5

7. Possess knowledge of impact of engineering solutions in a global, economic, environmental, health and societal context; knowledge of contemporary issues; awareness on legal outcomes of engineering solutions; knowledge of behavior according to ethical principles, understanding of professional and ethical responsibility. 5

8. Have the ability to write effective reports and comprehend written reports, prepare design and production reports, make effective presentations, and give and receive clear and intelligible instructions. 5


1. Comprehend key concepts in biology and physiology, with emphasis on molecular genetics, biochemistry and molecular and cell biology as well as advanced mathematics and statistics. 5

2. Develop conceptual background for interfacing of biology with engineering for a professional awareness of contemporary biological research questions and the experimental and theoretical methods used to address them. 5


1. Design, implement, test, and evaluate a computer system, component, or algorithm to meet desired needs and to solve a computational problem. 5

2. Demonstrate knowledge of discrete mathematics and data structures. 5

3. Demonstrate knowledge of probability and statistics, including applications appropriate to computer science and engineering. 5


1. Use mathematics (including derivative and integral calculations, probability and statistics, differential equations, linear algebra, complex variables and discrete mathematics), basic sciences, computer and programming, and electronics engineering knowledge to (a) Design and analyze complex electronic circuits, instruments, software and electronics systems with hardware/software or (b) Design and analyze communication networks and systems, signal processing algorithms or software 5


1. Applying fundamental and advanced knowledge of natural sciences as well as engineering principles to develop and design new materials and establish the relation between internal structure and physical properties using experimental, computational and theoretical tools. 5

2. Merging the existing knowledge on physical properties, design limits and fabrication methods in materials selection for a particular application or to resolve material performance related problems. 5

3. Predicting and understanding the behavior of a material under use in a specific environment knowing the internal structure or vice versa. 5


1. Familiarity with concepts in statistics and optimization, knowledge in basic differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, complex variables, multi-variable calculus, as well as physics and computer science, and ability to use this knowledge in modeling, design and analysis of complex dynamical systems containing hardware and software components. 5

2. Ability to work in design, implementation and integration of engineering applications, such as electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, control and computer systems that contain software and hardware components, including sensors, actuators and controllers. 5


1. Formulate and analyze problems in complex manufacturing and service systems by comprehending and applying the basic tools of industrial engineering such as modeling and optimization, stochastics, statistics. 5

2. Design and develop appropriate analytical solution strategies for problems in integrated production and service systems involving human capital, materials, information, equipment, and energy. 5

3. Implement solution strategies on a computer platform for decision-support purposes by employing effective computational and experimental tools. 5

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Quiz 5
Term-Paper 25
Case Study 10
Individual Project 35
Written Report 25