Graduation Project (Implementation) (ENS 492)

2021 Spring
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
3
2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal Kılıç -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol -nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Anıl Koyuncu -anil.koyuncu@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş -ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Burcu Saner Okan -bsanerokan@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Arın -inancarin@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Barış Balcıoğlu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Melik Yazıcı -melikyazici@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Güvenç Şahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Onur Varol -onur.varol@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
ENS491
Workshop,Seminar,Laboratory
Discussion based learning,Project based learning,Task based learning
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

OBJECTIVE

To implement the outcome of the project work completed in ENS 491.

LEARNING OUTCOME

upon completion of this course, students will have experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to solve a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to utilize modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
experience on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Final 30
Individual Project 35
Written Report 25
Presentation 10

RECOMENDED or REQUIRED READINGS

Readings

To be recommended by the project supervisor.