Graduation Project (Design) (ENS 491)

2021 Fall
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
1
2.00 / 2.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Demirelli -ahmetdemirelli@sabanciuniv.edu, Mohammad Sadek -mmsadek@sabanciuniv.edu, Onur Varol -onur.varol@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Duruk Mutlubaş -nilaydm@sabanciuniv.edu, Turgay Bayraktar -tbayraktar@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Ömer Ceylan -ceylanomer@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Durmuş Ali Demir -durmus.demir@sabanciuniv.edu, Semih Onur Sezer -sezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Alex Lyakhovich -alex.lyakhovich@sabanciuniv.edu, Nurdagül Anbar Meidl -nanbar@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Yasemin Şengül Tezel -yaseminsengul@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç -ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Michel Lavrauw -mlavrauw@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan -otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Kaşıkcı -canankasikci@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Burcu Saner Okan -bsanerokan@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Barış Balcıoğlu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Erdem -emreerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş -ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Özlü -emreozlu@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Altuğ Tanaltay -atanaltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Tuğçe Yüksel -tyuksel@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayesha Asloob Qureshi -aqureshi@sabanciuniv.edu, Nihat Gökhan Göğüş -nggogus@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Arın -inancarin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Yunus Sarıkaya -ysarikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Melik Yazıcı -melikyazici@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Süha Orhun Mutluergil -suha.mutluergil@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Dızman -bekirdizman@sabanciuniv.edu, Burç Mısırlıoğlu -burc@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmet İnönü Kaya -iikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Kürşat Şendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven -melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Ünal Ertan -unal@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol -nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Ogün Adebali -oadebali@sabanciuniv.edu, Erdinç Öztürk -erdinco@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Zafer Gedik -gedik@sabanciuniv.edu, Serkan Ünal -serkanunal@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Gülşen Demiröz -gulsend@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Çetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Anıl Koyuncu -anil.koyuncu@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal Kılıç -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinöz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Güllü Kızıltaş Şendur -gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Eroğlu -emrah.eroglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Güvenç Şahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Adagideli -adagideli@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
--
Laboratory,Other
Project based learning,Case Study
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

LEARNING OUTCOME

ability to identify, define, formulate complex scientific/engineering problems/processes,

experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to design a solution approach for a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to identify modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
knowledge on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
awareness on IP management, innovation and entrepreneurship,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations,
experience in working in multidisciplinary teams.

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Exam 5
Term-Paper 25
Case Study 10
Individual Project 35
Written Report 25