English Route 4 (ENG 0004)

2021 Fall
School of Languages
English(ENG)
0
24
Andrew Christopher Bosson acbosson@sabanciuniv.edu, Gülden Çelik gulden.celik@sabanciuniv.edu, Aybüke Filiz Gürer aybuke.gurer@sabanciuniv.edu, Bünyamin Mengi bunyamin@sabanciuniv.edu, Suzan Altıparmak saltiparmak@sabanciuniv.edu, David Hill davidhill@sabanciuniv.edu, Deniz Özden Rodrigues drodrigues@sabanciuniv.edu, Dalince Çongara dalince@sabanciuniv.edu, Deniz Renda denizrenda@sabanciuniv.edu, Metin Esen metin.esen@sabanciuniv.edu, Gorica Stevanovic gorica@sabanciuniv.edu, Mona Tavakoli mona.tavakoli@sabanciuniv.edu, Okan Bölükbaş okanbolukbas@sabanciuniv.edu, Yeşim Nalkesen Akın yesim.nalkesen@sabanciuniv.edu, Suant Jane Sezgin jane.sezgin@sabanciuniv.edu, David Gasper david.gasper@sabanciuniv.edu, Havva Sibel Taşkın Şimşek sibelsimsek@sabanciuniv.edu, Şila Mevlüde Yosulçay yosulcay@sabanciuniv.edu, Tülin Süral Dean tulinsural@sabanciuniv.edu, Merve Yıldırım merve.yildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Celile Gürsu celilegursu@sabanciuniv.edu, Mutlu Üstünkaya Bosson mbosson@sabanciuniv.edu,
Click here to view.
English
--
Formal lecture,Interactive lecture,On-line task/distance,One-to-one tutorial,Group tutorial,Other
Interactive,Learner centered,Communicative,Discussion based learning,Project based learning,Task based learning
Click here to view. Course not found!

CONTENT

At this level, students develop their abilities to read, write and speak fluently and accurately in English. They also become advanced communicators with sufficient general knowledge to start their freshman studies. The course focuses on academic skills, critical thinking and may include the language of Maths and Science. Content-based and on-line learning support materials play an essential role in achieving this aim.

OBJECTIVE

to develop students? abilities to listen, read, write and speak fluently and accurately in English, to introduce them to academic skills needed for success at university, to help students use modern technological tools essential to university study, including word processing (e.g. Microsoft Word) and the Internet in an academically appropriate way, and to develop their learning skills and their ability to study independently.

LEARNING OUTCOMES

  • At the end of the course, students are expected to have enough language, including a variety of complex structures, to be able to give clear detailed descriptions, present and develop arguments in most academic situations.

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Final 20
Midterm 15
Quiz 50
Participation 10
Group Project 5

RECOMENDED or REQUIRED READINGS

Textbook

Bag, M., Dobie, G., Einer, J., Ferris, D., Garinger, D., Mustafa, A., & Yanova, J. M. (2003b).
Beyond the boundaries ? English in an academic environment ? Level three book
one.
Sabancı University Press.