Summer Project (PROJ 302)

2020 Summer
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Project Course(PROJ)
0
2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Tuğçe Yüksel -tyuksel@sabanciuniv.edu, Altuğ Tanaltay -atanaltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Beste Başçiftçi -beste.basciftci@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Yıldız -mehmet.yildiz@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Cleva Ow Yang -cleva@sabanciuniv.edu, Erkay Savaş -erkays@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Erdem -emreerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinöz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Erdinç Öztürk -erdinco@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Zehra Sayers -zehra@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Papila -mpapila@sabanciuniv.edu, Güllü Kızıltaş Şendur -gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Çetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Gülşen Demiröz -gulsend@sabanciuniv.edu, Burç Mısırlıoğlu -burc@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç -ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven -melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onat -onat@sabanciuniv.edu, Mahmut Faruk Akşit -aksit@sabanciuniv.edu, Onur Varol -onur.varol@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Süha Orhun Mutluergil -suha.mutluergil@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Kürşat Şendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Bülent Çatay -catay@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol -nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüsnü Yenigün -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Eralp Demir -eralpd@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Eroğlu -emrah.eroglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan -otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmail Çakmak -cakmak@sabanciuniv.edu, Ogün Adebali -oadebali@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüveyda Başağa -huveyda@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
PROJ102 PROJ201
Field work/field study/on-the-job
Project based learning
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All FENS students are required to complete a summer project (PROJ 302) with a minimum duration of 8 weeks after 3rd year and to have a satisfactory (S) standing so as to receive their B.Sc. degrees. The main objectives of the the summer project are (i) to give the students a chance to gain first- hand working experience in an industrial setting, (ii) to enhance their technical and communications skills, (iii) to enable them to interact with engineers and technicians effectively. At the same time, the summer projects help the students' professional development. Students determine their internship companies/institutions based on their interests and programs they are enrolled. At the end of the project, students are required to prepare and submit a final project report and make a presentation. Students have to be enrolled in a FENS Diploma Programme in order to register for this course. See PROJ 302 guideline for further details.

OBJECTIVE

The main objectives of the summer project are (i) to give the students a chance to gain first- hand working experience in industrial settings, (ii) to enable them to develop technical and communication skills needed (iii) to allow the students to interact with engineers and technicians in the industry.

LEARNING OUTCOME

Upon successful completion of Summer Project, students are expected to

- demonstrate the ability to interact with the colloquies with discretion and communicate efficiently and professionally with them, and develop and demonstrate professionalism in assigned responsibilities

- gain first-hand working experience in a industrial setting and be able to integrate the broad aspects of their theoretical knowledge into practice

-demonstrate management and leadership skills relevant to their field of study

-develop critical thinking skills in problem identification and solving and data analysis, and in recognizing the repercussion of their actions and decisions.

-demonstrate the ability to write clear, concise documentation and reports

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Written Report 50
Presentation 50