Graduation Project (Design) (ENS 491)

2020 Fall
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
1
2.00 / 2.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Mahmut Faruk Akşit -aksit@sabanciuniv.edu, Zehra Sayers -zehra@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Arın -inancarin@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Demirelli -ahmetdemirelli@sabanciuniv.edu, Altuğ Tanaltay -atanaltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Durmuş Ali Demir -durmus.demir@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Çetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Cleva Ow Yang -cleva@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Tuğçe Yüksel -tyuksel@sabanciuniv.edu, Batu Erman -batu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onat -onat@sabanciuniv.edu, Michel Lavrauw -mlavrauw@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozan Biçen -ozan.bicen@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ogün Adebali -oadebali@sabanciuniv.edu, Serkan Ünal -serkanunal@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Duruk Mutlubaş -nilaydm@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç -ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Leila Haghighi Poudeh -leila.poudeh@sabanciuniv.edu, Erdinç Öztürk -erdinco@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayesha Asloob Qureshi -aqureshi@sabanciuniv.edu, Turgay Bayraktar -tbayraktar@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Hüsnü Özgüz -vozguz@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Zafer Gedik -gedik@sabanciuniv.edu, Hasan Sait Ölmez -olmez@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinöz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Süha Orhun Mutluergil -suha.mutluergil@sabanciuniv.edu, Eralp Demir -eralpd@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmet İnönü Kaya -iikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Mohammad Sadek -mmsadek@sabanciuniv.edu, Yunus Sarıkaya -ysarikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Melik Yazıcı -melikyazici@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Burç Mısırlıoğlu -burc@sabanciuniv.edu, Yasemin Şengül Tezel -yaseminsengul@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Erkay Savaş -erkays@sabanciuniv.edu, Berk Esen -besen@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Eroğlu -emrah.eroglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven -melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Ünal Ertan -unal@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Adagideli -adagideli@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmail Çakmak -cakmak@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Papila -mpapila@sabanciuniv.edu, Kubilay Atasu -kubilay.atasu@sabanciuniv.edu, Hatice Sinem Şaş Çaycı -haticesas@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan -otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüsnü Yenigün -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş -ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüveyda Başağa -huveyda@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Yıldız -mehmet.yildiz@sabanciuniv.edu, Nihat Gökhan Göğüş -nggogus@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Erdem -emreerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Beste Başçiftçi -beste.basciftci@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Özlü -emreozlu@sabanciuniv.edu, Gülşen Demiröz -gulsend@sabanciuniv.edu, Güllü Kızıltaş Şendur -gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Bülent Çatay -catay@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Duygu Karaoğlan Altop -duygukaltop@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Kürşat Şendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Kaşıkcı -canankasikci@sabanciuniv.edu, Nurdagül Anbar Meidl -nanbar@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Büyük -muratbuyuk@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
--
Laboratory,Other
Project based learning,Case Study
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

LEARNING OUTCOME

ability to identify, define, formulate complex scientific/engineering problems/processes,

experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to design a solution approach for a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to identify modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
knowledge on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
awareness on IP management, innovation and entrepreneurship,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations,
experience in working in multidisciplinary teams.

PROGRAMME OUTCOMES


1. Understand the world, their country, their society, as well as themselves and have awareness of ethical problems, social rights, values and responsibility to the self and to others. 4

2. Understand different disciplines from natural and social sciences to mathematics and art, and develop interdisciplinary approaches in thinking and practice. 4

3. Think critically, follow innovations and developments in science and technology, demonstrate personal and organizational entrepreneurship and engage in life-long learning in various subjects. 5

4. Communicate effectively in Turkish and English by oral, written, graphical and technological means. 5

5. Take individual and team responsibility, function effectively and respectively as an individual and a member or a leader of a team; and have the skills to work effectively in multi-disciplinary teams. 5


1. Possess sufficient knowledge of mathematics, science and program-specific engineering topics; use theoretical and applied knowledge of these areas in complex engineering problems. 5

2. Identify, define, formulate and solve complex engineering problems; choose and apply suitable analysis and modeling methods for this purpose. 5

3. Develop, choose and use modern techniques and tools that are needed for analysis and solution of complex problems faced in engineering applications; possess knowledge of standards used in engineering applications; use information technologies effectively. 5

4. Ability to design a complex system, process, instrument or a product under realistic constraints and conditions, with the goal of fulfilling specified needs; apply modern design techniques for this purpose. 5

5. Design and conduct experiments, collect data, analyze and interpret the results to investigate complex engineering problems or program-specific research areas. 5

6. Knowledge of business practices such as project management, risk management and change management; awareness on innovation; knowledge of sustainable development. 5

7. Knowledge of impact of engineering solutions in a global, economic, environmental, health and societal context; knowledge of contemporary issues; awareness on legal outcomes of engineering solutions; understanding of professional and ethical responsibility. 5


1. Formulate and analyze problems in complex manufacturing and service systems by comprehending and applying the basic tools of industrial engineering such as modeling and optimization, stochastics, statistics. 5

2. Design and develop appropriate analytical solution strategies for problems in integrated production and service systems involving human capital, materials, information, equipment, and energy. 5

3. Implement solution strategies on a computer platform for decision-support purposes by employing effective computational and experimental tools. 5


1. Applying fundamental and advanced knowledge of natural sciences as well as engineering principles to develop and design new materials and establish the relation between internal structure and physical properties using experimental, computational and theoretical tools. 5

2. Merging the existing knowledge on physical properties, design limits and fabrication methods in materials selection for a particular application or to resolve material performance related problems. 5

3. Predicting and understanding the behavior of a material under use in a specific environment knowing the internal structure or vice versa. 5


1. Comprehend key concepts in biology and physiology, with emphasis on molecular genetics, biochemistry and molecular and cell biology as well as advanced mathematics and statistics. 5

2. Develop conceptual background for interfacing of biology with engineering for a professional awareness of contemporary biological research questions and the experimental and theoretical methods used to address them. 5


1. Design, implement, test, and evaluate a computer system, component, or algorithm to meet desired needs and to solve a computational problem. 5

2. Demonstrate knowledge of discrete mathematics and data structures. 5

3. Demonstrate knowledge of probability and statistics, including applications appropriate to computer science and engineering. 5


1. Familiarity with concepts in statistics and optimization, knowledge in basic differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, complex variables, multi-variable calculus, as well as physics and computer science, and ability to use this knowledge in modeling, design and analysis of complex dynamical systems containing hardware and software components. 5

2. Ability to work in design, implementation and integration of engineering applications, such as electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, control and computer systems that contain software and hardware components, including sensors, actuators and controllers. 5


1. Use mathematics (including derivative and integral calculations, probability and statistics, differential equations, linear algebra, complex variables and discrete mathematics), basic sciences, computer and programming, and electronics engineering knowledge to (a) Design and analyze complex electronic circuits, instruments, software and electronics systems with hardware/software. or (b) Design and analyze communication networks and systems, signal processing algorithms or software 5

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Exam 5
Case Study 10
Individual Project 35
Written Report 50