Graduation Project (Implementation) (ENS 492)

2021 Fall
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
3
2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Kürşat Şendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven -melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Zehra Sayers -zehra@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan -otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Özlü -emreozlu@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüsnü Yenigün -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol -nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Cleva Ow Yang -cleva@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç -ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
ENS491
Workshop,Seminar,Laboratory
Discussion based learning,Project based learning,Task based learning
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

OBJECTIVE

To implement the outcome of the project work completed in ENS 491.

LEARNING OUTCOME

upon completion of this course, students will have experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to solve a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to utilize modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
experience on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Final 30
Individual Project 35
Written Report 25
Presentation 10

RECOMENDED or REQUIRED READINGS

Readings

To be recommended by the project supervisor.