Graduation Project (Design) (ENS 491)

2021 Fall
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
1
2.00 / 2.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Onur Varol -onur.varol@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Barış Balcıoğlu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş -ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Burcu Saner Okan -bsanerokan@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu, Melik Yazıcı -melikyazici@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Arın -inancarin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Çetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Nur Mustafaoğlu Varol -nur.mustafaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Erdinç Öztürk -erdinco@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Güvenç Şahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal Kılıç -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Anıl Koyuncu -anil.koyuncu@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
--
Laboratory,Other
Project based learning,Case Study
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

LEARNING OUTCOME

ability to identify, define, formulate complex scientific/engineering problems/processes,

experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to design a solution approach for a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to identify modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
knowledge on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
awareness on IP management, innovation and entrepreneurship,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations,
experience in working in multidisciplinary teams.

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Exam 5
Term-Paper 25
Case Study 10
Individual Project 35
Written Report 25