Graduation Project (Implementation) (ENS 492)

2020 Spring
Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Engineering Sciences(ENS)
3
2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Ali Rana Atılgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yapıcı -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yeşilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguç Ünlüyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Hasan Sait Ölmez -olmez@sabanciuniv.edu, Ünal Ertan -unal@sabanciuniv.edu, Öznur Taştan Okan -otastan@sabanciuniv.edu, Durmuş Ali Demir -durmus.demir@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Atılgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Erdem -emreerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Papila -mpapila@sabanciuniv.edu, Reyyan Yeniterzi -reyyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balcısoy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Serkan Ünal -serkanunal@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Arın -inancarin@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüveyda Başağa -huveyda@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Yıldırım -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayesha Asloob Qureshi -aqureshi@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gülgün -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Ersin Göğüş -ersing@sabanciuniv.edu, Batu Erman -batu@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüseyin Özkan -hozkan@sabanciuniv.edu, Özge Akbulut -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Christopher Mayack -cmayack@sabanciuniv.edu, Hüsnü Yenigün -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Hüsnü Özgüz -vozguz@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Ünel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koç -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Altuğ Tanaltay -atanaltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Eralp Demir -eralpd@sabanciuniv.edu, İlker Hamzaoğlu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Yusuf Ziya Menceloğlu -yusufm@sabanciuniv.edu, Amine Gizem Özbaygın -ozbaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Çakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmet İnönü Kaya -iikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Zehra Sayers -zehra@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Demirelli -ahmetdemirelli@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Patoğlu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Kalemci -ekalemci@sabanciuniv.edu, Feyzullah Orçun Çetin -orcun.cetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Berk Esen -besen@sabanciuniv.edu, Kağan Kurşungöz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinöz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayşe Berrin Yanıkoğlu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Yıldız -mehmet.yildiz@sabanciuniv.edu, Turgay Bayraktar -tbayraktar@sabanciuniv.edu, Mohammad Sadek -mmsadek@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Barış Balcıoğlu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Emre Özlü -emreozlu@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Nurdagül Anbar Meidl -nanbar@sabanciuniv.edu, Gözde İnce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Adnan Kefal -adnankefal@sabanciuniv.edu, Beste Başçiftçi -beste.basciftci@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal Kılıç -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Yasemin Şengül Tezel -yaseminsengul@sabanciuniv.edu, Nihat Gökhan Göğüş -nggogus@sabanciuniv.edu, Ezgi Karabulut Türkseven -ezgi.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitaş -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Tuğçe Yüksel -tyuksel@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Duruk Mutlubaş -nilaydm@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Erçetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gürsel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, İbrahim Kürşat Şendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Semih Onur Sezer -sezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Yılmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Erdinç Öztürk -erdinco@sabanciuniv.edu, Güvenç Şahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, Burak Kocuk -burakkocuk@sabanciuniv.edu, Cleva Ow Yang -cleva@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Zafer Gedik -gedik@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Türkseven -melih.turkseven@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Öztürk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Koşar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Mahmut Faruk Akşit -aksit@sabanciuniv.edu, Hatice Sinem Şaş Çaycı -haticesas@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Güllü Kızıltaş Şendur -gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onat -onat@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Ağca -cavit.agca@sabanciuniv.edu, Özgür Gürbüz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Burç Mısırlıoğlu -burc@sabanciuniv.edu, Bülent Çatay -catay@sabanciuniv.edu, İnanç Adagideli -adagideli@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Çetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Emrah Eroğlu -emrah.eroglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Gülşen Demiröz -gulsend@sabanciuniv.edu, Michel Lavrauw -mlavrauw@sabanciuniv.edu, Yücel Saygın -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozan Biçen -ozan.bicen@sabanciuniv.edu, Lütfi Taner Tunç -ttunc@sabanciuniv.edu, Ogün Adebali -oadebali@sabanciuniv.edu, Yaşar Gürbüz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Erkay Savaş -erkays@sabanciuniv.edu, Yunus Sarıkaya -ysarikaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, İsmail Çakmak -cakmak@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan Kaşıkcı -canankasikci@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu, Barış Altop -baris.altop@sabanciuniv.edu,
English
Undergraduate
ENS491
Workshop,Seminar,Laboratory
Discussion based learning,Project based learning,Task based learning
Click here to view.

CONTENT

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

OBJECTIVE

To implement the outcome of the project work completed in ENS 491.

LEARNING OUTCOME

upon completion of this course, students will have experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to solve a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to utilize modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
experience on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations

PROGRAMME OUTCOMES


1. Understand the world, their country, their society, as well as themselves and have awareness of ethical problems, social rights, values and responsibility to the self and to others. 4

2. Understand different disciplines from natural and social sciences to mathematics and art, and develop interdisciplinary approaches in thinking and practice. 4

3. Think critically, follow innovations and developments in science and technology, demonstrate personal and organizational entrepreneurship and engage in life-long learning in various subjects. 5

4. Communicate effectively in Turkish and English by oral, written, graphical and technological means. 5

5. Take individual and team responsibility, function effectively and respectively as an individual and a member or a leader of a team; and have the skills to work effectively in multi-disciplinary teams. 5


1. Possess sufficient knowledge of mathematics, science and program-specific engineering topics; use theoretical and applied knowledge of these areas in complex engineering problems. 5

2. Identify, define, formulate and solve complex engineering problems; choose and apply suitable analysis and modeling methods for this purpose. 5

3. Develop, choose and use modern techniques and tools that are needed for analysis and solution of complex problems faced in engineering applications; possess knowledge of standards used in engineering applications; use information technologies effectively. 5

4. Ability to design a complex system, process, instrument or a product under realistic constraints and conditions, with the goal of fulfilling specified needs; apply modern design techniques for this purpose. 5

5. Design and conduct experiments, collect data, analyze and interpret the results to investigate complex engineering problems or program-specific research areas. 5

6. Knowledge of business practices such as project management, risk management and change management; awareness on innovation; knowledge of sustainable development. 5

7. Knowledge of impact of engineering solutions in a global, economic, environmental, health and societal context; knowledge of contemporary issues; awareness on legal outcomes of engineering solutions; understanding of professional and ethical responsibility. 5


1. Formulate and analyze problems in complex manufacturing and service systems by comprehending and applying the basic tools of industrial engineering such as modeling and optimization, stochastics, statistics. 5

2. Design and develop appropriate analytical solution strategies for problems in integrated production and service systems involving human capital, materials, information, equipment, and energy. 5

3. Implement solution strategies on a computer platform for decision-support purposes by employing effective computational and experimental tools. 5


1. Applying fundamental and advanced knowledge of natural sciences as well as engineering principles to develop and design new materials and establish the relation between internal structure and physical properties using experimental, computational and theoretical tools. 5

2. Merging the existing knowledge on physical properties, design limits and fabrication methods in materials selection for a particular application or to resolve material performance related problems. 5

3. Predicting and understanding the behavior of a material under use in a specific environment knowing the internal structure or vice versa. 5


1. Comprehend key concepts in biology and physiology, with emphasis on molecular genetics, biochemistry and molecular and cell biology as well as advanced mathematics and statistics. 5

2. Develop conceptual background for interfacing of biology with engineering for a professional awareness of contemporary biological research questions and the experimental and theoretical methods used to address them. 5


1. Design, implement, test, and evaluate a computer system, component, or algorithm to meet desired needs and to solve a computational problem. 5

2. Demonstrate knowledge of discrete mathematics and data structures. 5

3. Demonstrate knowledge of probability and statistics, including applications appropriate to computer science and engineering. 5


1. Familiarity with concepts in statistics and optimization, knowledge in basic differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, complex variables, multi-variable calculus, as well as physics and computer science, and ability to use this knowledge in modeling, design and analysis of complex dynamical systems containing hardware and software components. 5

2. Ability to work in design, implementation and integration of engineering applications, such as electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, control and computer systems that contain software and hardware components, including sensors, actuators and controllers. 5


1. Use mathematics (including derivative and integral calculations, probability and statistics, differential equations, linear algebra, complex variables and discrete mathematics), basic sciences, computer and programming, and electronics engineering knowledge to (a) Design and analyze complex electronic circuits, instruments, software and electronics systems with hardware/software. or (b) Design and analyze communication networks and systems, signal processing algorithms or software 5

ASSESSMENT METHODS and CRITERIA

  Percentage (%)
Individual Project 35
Written Report 55
Presentation 10

RECOMENDED or REQUIRED READINGS

Readings

To be recommended by the project supervisor.

Course Web https://fens.sabanciuniv.edu/fensware/ens4912/