Click to Print This Page
Code PROJ 302
Term 201603
Title Summer Project
Faculty Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Subject Project Course(PROJ)
SU Credit 0
ECTS Credit 2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Instructor(s) Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Yasar Gurbuz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Mahmut Faruk Aksit -aksit@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balc?soy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Bahattin Koc -bahattinkoc@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal K?l?c -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Mujdat Cetin -mcetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Husnu Yenigun -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya Yap?c? -mkyapici@sabanciuniv.edu, Serhat Yesilyurt -syesilyurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Guvenc Sahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, Gullu K?z?ltas Sendur -gkiziltas@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Kosar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gursel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Unel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Devrim Gozuac?k -dgozuacik@sabanciuniv.edu, Fevzi Cakmak Cebeci -fccebeci@sabanciuniv.edu, Semih Onur Sezer -sezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana At?lgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Pato?lu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Y?lmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, ?lker Sevket Birbil -sibirbil@sabanciuniv.edu, Bekir Bediz -bbediz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozgur Gurbuz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, ?lker Hamzao?lu -hamzaoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozge Akbulut Halatc? -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Y?ld?r?m -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Cleva Ow Yang -cleva@sabanciuniv.edu, Huveyda Basa?a -huveyda@sabanciuniv.edu, Kerem Bulbul -bulbul@sabanciuniv.edu, Burc M?s?rl?o?lu -burc@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Papila -mpapila@sabanciuniv.edu, Yucel Sayg?n -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, Canan At?lgan -canan@sabanciuniv.edu, Batu Erman -batu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayhan Bozkurt -abozkurt@sabanciuniv.edu, Meric Ozcan -meric@sabanciuniv.edu, Zehra Sayers -zehra@sabanciuniv.edu, Erkay Savas -erkays@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Cetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Y?ld?z -meyildiz@sabanciuniv.edu, ?brahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Noyan -nnoyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Bulent Catay -catay@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozgur Ercetin -oercetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onat -onat@sabanciuniv.edu, ?brahim Kursat Sendur -sendur@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitas -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinoz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguc Unluyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Eralp Demir -eralpd@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Bar?s Balc?o?lu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, ?smail Cakmak -cakmak@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal ?nan -inan@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Ali Gulgun -m-gulgun@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Ozturk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Gozde ?nce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Deniz Sezer -dsezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Ayse Berrin Yan?ko?lu -berrin@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu,
Language of Instruction English
Level of Course Undergraduate
Type of Course Click here to view.
Prerequisites
(only for SU students)
PROJ102
Mode of Delivery Field work/field study/on-the-job
Planned Learning Activities Project based learning
Content

All FENS students are required to complete a summer project (PROJ 302) with a minimum duration of 8 weeks after 3rd year and to have a satisfactory (S) standing so as to receive their B.Sc. degrees. The main objectives of the the summer project are (i) to give the students a chance to gain first- hand working experience in an industrial setting, (ii) to enhance their technical and communications skills, (iii) to enable them to interact with engineers and technicians effectively. At the same time, the summer projects help the students' professional development. Students determine their internship companies/institutions based on their interests and programs they are enrolled. At the end of the project, students are required to prepare and submit a final project report and make a presentation. Students have to be enrolled in a FENS Diploma Programme in order to register for this course. See PROJ 302 guideline for further details.

Objective

The main objectives of the summer project are (i) to give the students a chance to gain first- hand working experience in industrial settings, (ii) to enable them to develop technical and communication skills needed (iii) to allow the students to interact with engineers and technicians in the industry.

Learning Outcome

Upon successful completion of Summer Project, students are expected to

- demonstrate the ability to interact with the colloquies with discretion and communicate efficiently and professionally with them, and develop and demonstrate professionalism in assigned responsibilities

- gain first-hand working experience in a industrial setting and be able to integrate the broad aspects of their theoretical knowledge into practice

-demonstrate management and leadership skills relevant to their field of study

-develop critical thinking skills in problem identification and solving and data analysis, and in recognizing the repercussion of their actions and decisions.

-demonstrate the ability to write clear, concise documentation and reports

Programme Outcomes
 
Common Outcomes For All Programs
1 Understand the world, their country, their society, as well as themselves and have awareness of ethical problems, social rights, values and responsibility to the self and to others. 5
2 Understand different disciplines from natural and social sciences to mathematics and art, and develop interdisciplinary approaches in thinking and practice. 5
3 Think critically, follow innovations and developments in science and technology, demonstrate personal and organizational entrepreneurship and engage in life-long learning in various subjects. 5
4 Communicate effectively in Turkish and English by oral, written, graphical and technological means. 5
5 Take individual and team responsibility, function effectively and respectively as an individual and a member or a leader of a team; and have the skills to work effectively in multi-disciplinary teams. 5
1 Possess sufficient knowledge of mathematics, science and program-specific engineering topics; use theoretical and applied knowledge of these areas in complex engineering problems.
2 Identify, define, formulate and solve complex engineering problems; choose and apply suitable analysis and modeling methods for this purpose.
3 Develop, choose and use modern techniques and tools that are needed for analysis and solution of complex problems faced in engineering applications; possess knowledge of standards used in engineering applications; use information technologies effectively.
4 Ability to design a complex system, process, instrument or a product under realistic constraints and conditions, with the goal of fulfilling specified needs; apply modern design techniques for this purpose.
5 Design and conduct experiments, collect data, analyze and interpret the results to investigate complex engineering problems or program-specific research areas.
6 Knowledge of business practices such as project management, risk management and change management; awareness on innovation; knowledge of sustainable development.
7 Knowledge of impact of engineering solutions in a global, economic, environmental, health and societal context; knowledge of contemporary issues; awareness on legal outcomes of engineering solutions; understanding of professional and ethical responsibility.
1 Formulate and analyze problems in complex manufacturing and service systems by comprehending and applying the basic tools of industrial engineering such as modeling and optimization, stochastics, statistics.
2 Design and develop appropriate analytical solution strategies for problems in integrated production and service systems involving human capital, materials, information, equipment, and energy.
3 Implement solution strategies on a computer platform for decision-support purposes by employing effective computational and experimental tools.
1 Applying fundamental and advanced knowledge of natural sciences as well as engineering principles to develop and design new materials and establish the relation between internal structure and physical properties using experimental, computational and theoretical tools.
2 Merging the existing knowledge on physical properties, design limits and fabrication methods in materials selection for a particular application or to resolve material performance related problems.
3 Predicting and understanding the behavior of a material under use in a specific environment knowing the internal structure or vice versa.
1 Comprehend key concepts in biology and physiology, with emphasis on molecular genetics, biochemistry and molecular and cell biology as well as advanced mathematics and statistics.
2 Develop conceptual background for interfacing of biology with engineering for a professional awareness of contemporary biological research questions and the experimental and theoretical methods used to address them.
1 Design, implement, test, and evaluate a computer system, component, or algorithm to meet desired needs and to solve a computational problem.
2 Demonstrate knowledge of discrete mathematics and data structures.
3 Demonstrate knowledge of probability and statistics, including applications appropriate to computer science and engineering.
1 Familiarity with concepts in statistics and optimization, knowledge in basic differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, complex variables, multi-variable calculus, as well as physics and computer science, and ability to use this knowledge in modeling, design and analysis of complex dynamical systems containing hardware and software components.
2 Ability to work in design, implementation and integration of engineering applications, such as electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, control and computer systems that contain software and hardware components, including sensors, actuators and controllers.
1 Use mathematics (including derivative and integral calculations, probability and statistics), basic sciences, computer and programming, and electronics engineering knowledge to design and analyze complex electronic circuits, instruments, software and electronics systems with hardware/software.
2 Analyze and design communication networks and systems, signal processing algorithms or software using advanced knowledge on differential equations, linear algebra, complex variables and discrete mathematics.
Assessment Methods and Criteria
  Percentage (%)
Written Report 50
Presentation 50