Click to Print This Page
Code ENS 492
Term 201602
Title Graduation Project (Implementation)
Faculty Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences
Subject Engineering Sciences(ENS)
SU Credit 3
ECTS Credit 2.00 / 5.00 ECTS (for students admitted in the 2013-14 Academic Year or following years)
Instructor(s) Ozgur Gurbuz -ogurbuz@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onat -onat@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemalettin Erbatur -erbatur@sabanciuniv.edu, Ka?an Kursungoz -kursungoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Mujdat Cetin -mcetin@sabanciuniv.edu, Kerem Bulbul -bulbul@sabanciuniv.edu, Ozge Akbulut Halatc? -ozgeakbulut@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Cetiner -cetiner@sabanciuniv.edu, Mustafa Unel -munel@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Koca -ekoca@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Bar?s Balc?o?lu -balcioglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ahmet Onur Durahim -onurdurahim@sabanciuniv.edu, Kemal K?l?c -kkilic@sabanciuniv.edu, Albert Levi -levi@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Rana At?lgan -atilgan@sabanciuniv.edu, Yucel Sayg?n -ysaygin@sabanciuniv.edu, ?brahim Tekin -tekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Altu? Tanaltay -atanaltay@sabanciuniv.edu, Batu Erman -batu@sabanciuniv.edu, Ata Mugan -atamugan@sabanciuniv.edu, Bulent Catay -catay@sabanciuniv.edu, Huveyda Basa?a -huveyda@sabanciuniv.edu, Sinan Y?ld?r?m -sinanyildirim@sabanciuniv.edu, Esra Erdem -esraerdem@sabanciuniv.edu, Mehmet Keskinoz -keskinoz@sabanciuniv.edu, Fatma Tevhide Altekin -altekin@sabanciuniv.edu, Volkan Pato?lu -vpatoglu@sabanciuniv.edu, Tonguc Unluyurt -tonguc@sabanciuniv.edu, Husnu Yenigun -yenigun@sabanciuniv.edu, Selim Saffet Balc?soy -balcisoy@sabanciuniv.edu, Devrim Gozuac?k -dgozuacik@sabanciuniv.edu, Meltem Elitas -melitas@sabanciuniv.edu, Hans Frenk -frenk@sabanciuniv.edu, Guvenc Sahin -guvencs@sabanciuniv.edu, Serkan Unal -serkanunal@sabanciuniv.edu, Levent Ozturk -lozturk@sabanciuniv.edu, Gunduz Ahmet Ulusoy -gunduz@sabanciuniv.edu, Selmiye Alkan Gursel -selmiye@sabanciuniv.edu, Nilay Noyan -nnoyan@sabanciuniv.edu, Semih Onur Sezer -sezer@sabanciuniv.edu, Cemal Y?lmaz -cyilmaz@sabanciuniv.edu, Yasar Gurbuz -yasar@sabanciuniv.edu, Deniz Atalayer -denizatalayer@sabanciuniv.edu, Cavit Umut Ekmekci -umutekmekci@sabanciuniv.edu, Gozde ?nce -gozdeince@sabanciuniv.edu, Erhan Budak -ebudak@sabanciuniv.edu, Burcu Saner Okan -bsanerokan@sabanciuniv.edu, Kamer Kaya -kaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Ali Kosar -kosara@sabanciuniv.edu, Murat Kaya -mkaya@sabanciuniv.edu, Melih Papila -mpapila@sabanciuniv.edu, ?lker Sevket Birbil -sibirbil@sabanciuniv.edu, Utku Seven -useven@sabanciuniv.edu,
Language of Instruction English
Level of Course Undergraduate
Type of Course Click here to view.
Prerequisites
(only for SU students)
ENS491
Mode of Delivery Workshop,Seminar,Laboratory
Planned Learning Activities Discussion based learning,Project based learning,Task based learning
Content

All students in FENS faculty are required to complete a graduation project as a part of ENS 491 and ENS 492 course requirements. In these multidisciplinary projects, students will have the opportunity to apply and develop their knowledge in the area of their specialization in a team environment. ENS 491 will involve general lectures on engineering project development such as: product planning, project management, establishing product specifications, product metrics, cost analysis, concept generation, concept selection and testing, reliability, optimization, computer aided design and manufacturing, prototyping etc. Students will implement their designs in ENS 492. Students will be required to submit progress reports, and seperate final reports for ENS 491 and ENS 492

Objective

To implement the outcome of the project work completed in ENS 491.

Learning Outcome

ability to identify, define, formulate complex scientific/engineering problems/processes,
experience in applying knowledge of science, mathematics and engineering to solve a complex scientific/engineering problem under realistic constraints (such as economic, environmental, social, ethical, health and safety, manufacturability and sustainability), and in accordance with the standards of the field of specialty,
ability to identify and use modern techniques and tools to solve a problem,
knowledge on project management, risk management, change management, and legal consequences of engineering solutions,
awareness on IP management, innovation and entrepreneurship,
experience in effective communication of their findings by reports and presentations
experience in working in multidisciplinary teams

Programme Outcomes
 
Common Outcomes For All Programs
1 Understand the world, their country, their society, as well as themselves and have awareness of ethical problems, social rights, values and responsibility to the self and to others. 4
2 Understand different disciplines from natural and social sciences to mathematics and art, and develop interdisciplinary approaches in thinking and practice. 4
3 Think critically, follow innovations and developments in science and technology, demonstrate personal and organizational entrepreneurship and engage in life-long learning in various subjects. 5
4 Communicate effectively in Turkish and English by oral, written, graphical and technological means. 5
5 Take individual and team responsibility, function effectively and respectively as an individual and a member or a leader of a team; and have the skills to work effectively in multi-disciplinary teams. 5
Common Outcomes ForFaculty of Eng. & Natural Sci.
1 Possess sufficient knowledge of mathematics, science and program-specific engineering topics; use theoretical and applied knowledge of these areas in complex engineering problems. 5
2 Identify, define, formulate and solve complex engineering problems; choose and apply suitable analysis and modeling methods for this purpose. 5
3 Develop, choose and use modern techniques and tools that are needed for analysis and solution of complex problems faced in engineering applications; possess knowledge of standards used in engineering applications; use information technologies effectively. 5
4 Ability to design a complex system, process, instrument or a product under realistic constraints and conditions, with the goal of fulfilling specified needs; apply modern design techniques for this purpose. 5
5 Design and conduct experiments, collect data, analyze and interpret the results to investigate complex engineering problems or program-specific research areas. 5
6 Knowledge of business practices such as project management, risk management and change management; awareness on innovation; knowledge of sustainable development. 5
7 Knowledge of impact of engineering solutions in a global, economic, environmental, health and societal context; knowledge of contemporary issues; awareness on legal outcomes of engineering solutions; understanding of professional and ethical responsibility. 5
Industrial Engineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Formulate and analyze problems in complex manufacturing and service systems by comprehending and applying the basic tools of industrial engineering such as modeling and optimization, stochastics, statistics. 5
2 Design and develop appropriate analytical solution strategies for problems in integrated production and service systems involving human capital, materials, information, equipment, and energy. 5
3 Implement solution strategies on a computer platform for decision-support purposes by employing effective computational and experimental tools. 5
Materials Science and Nano Engineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Applying fundamental and advanced knowledge of natural sciences as well as engineering principles to develop and design new materials and establish the relation between internal structure and physical properties using experimental, computational and theoretical tools. 5
2 Merging the existing knowledge on physical properties, design limits and fabrication methods in materials selection for a particular application or to resolve material performance related problems. 5
3 Predicting and understanding the behavior of a material under use in a specific environment knowing the internal structure or vice versa. 5
Molecular Biology, Genetics and Bioengineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Comprehend key concepts in biology and physiology, with emphasis on molecular genetics, biochemistry and molecular and cell biology as well as advanced mathematics and statistics. 5
2 Develop conceptual background for interfacing of biology with engineering for a professional awareness of contemporary biological research questions and the experimental and theoretical methods used to address them. 5
Computer Science and Engineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Design, implement, test, and evaluate a computer system, component, or algorithm to meet desired needs and to solve a computational problem. 5
2 Demonstrate knowledge of discrete mathematics and data structures. 5
3 Demonstrate knowledge of probability and statistics, including applications appropriate to computer science and engineering. 5
Mechatronics Engineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Familiarity with concepts in statistics and optimization, knowledge in basic differential and integral calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, complex variables, multi-variable calculus, as well as physics and computer science, and ability to use this knowledge in modeling, design and analysis of complex dynamical systems containing hardware and software components. 5
2 Ability to work in design, implementation and integration of engineering applications, such as electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, control and computer systems that contain software and hardware components, including sensors, actuators and controllers. 5
Electronics Engineering Program Outcomes Required Courses
1 Use mathematics (including derivative and integral calculations, probability and statistics), basic sciences, computer and programming, and electronics engineering knowledge to design and analyze complex electronic circuits, instruments, software and electronics systems with hardware/software. 5
2 Analyze and design communication networks and systems, signal processing algorithms or software using advanced knowledge on differential equations, linear algebra, complex variables and discrete mathematics. 5
Assessment Methods and Criteria
  Percentage (%)
Assignment 20%
Group Project 50%
Written Report 20%
Presentation 10%
Recommended or Required Reading
Readings

To be recommended by the project supervisor.

Course Web https://fens.sabanciuniv.edu/fensware/ens4912/